The Municipal Credit Union was granted a Certificate of Organization on February 21, 1938. Chartered by the State of Iowa, the field of membership was originally comprised of City of Sioux City and Woodbury County employees and their immediate families. Since then, small employee groups have been added to include IBEW members and, most recently, Plymouth County employees. The Municipal Credit Union is the only non-community credit union in Woodbury and Plymouth counties.

The key to The Municipal Credit Union's progress is continued membership growth. Any employee from The City of Sioux City, Woodbury County, Plymouth County, and other numerous small employer groups are eligible for membership. Please contact us to see if you are eligible.

Message from the CEO

At The Municipal Credit Union, credit scores are taken into consideration when granting loans, however we recognize that there can be contributing factors to those numbers. You are worth more than your credit score when you are a member of The Municipal Credit Union. Many institutions attach higher loan rates to low credit scores, but we have ONE rate for ALL members. I firmly believe that is one indicator of the profound fairness of our credit union versus banks and some other credit unions.

-Roger E. Hake, CEO